Cutting words

I have been thinking about submitting some of my work to magazines or competitions.

I have a few Flash Fiction items and they are fine in terms of length – I have some less than 100, others less than 300 and some towards 1000 but different places want different things so I could find a home for each.

I have one serious attempt at a short story and this morning it was 5743 words – that is too long for anywhere wanting a shorty story so I have spent the day cutting words.  I am now down to 4992 so there are places that will accept it.

BUT

I liked the words that I cut – they meant something – they added depth.

So – do I go back and try to add so that it moves up a category or do I try it as it is now.

I just don’t know 😦

Leave a Reply

