Trying Something Different

Yesterday I tried my hand at “creative non-fiction” or memoirs as I prefer to call it.

Things have happened in my life, recent events have been quite dramatic/traumatic. Empty nest syndrome, spousal cancer, being bullied at work all seemed like suitable topics for a short piece.

So I tried. But I could not do it. I felt my descriptions were either too shallow or too personal. I found it hard to create a balance between detail and boring. More than this, I found it hard to directly write about people that would then read my work.

I may try again at some point but it does not seem to be my genre.

2 thoughts on “Trying Something Different

  1. Curlydaz June 1, 2014 / 9:12 am

    Did you write about it as you in the first person or put your events on to a fictional character (with your experiences informing it.) If it was the former then why not try the latter. Sounds like you’ve had a tough run and writing can be cathartic in itself. Just a thought.

    • enrayn June 1, 2014 / 9:16 am

      Thanks for the response.
      I tried first person, just talking.
      Then I tried a sort of diary entry approach.
      Neither really worked but I might have a go at writing it about a character.
      Thanks for the suggestion.

Leave a Reply

